Shall I always do as I please with what is mine?? #wisdom


The story goes thus, one day an old man was walking home and on his way he saw a young man beating his donkey with a pole. So he stopped and said, young man why are you beating your donkey so hard with that pole? Your donkey will die from this beating.

The young man then answered back saying “old man go your way, can I not do what I want with what is mine? And then he continued beating the donkey.

The old man said again, stop beating your donkey, this donkey will die. The young man said again “old man, go your way, can I not do what I like with what is mine?” he then resumed beating his donkey.

The old man this time around, moved closer towards him, raised his walking stick and started hitting him with it, the young man surprised and alarmed, asked, what did I do to you old man?

Then the old man replied, “May I not do as I please with what is mine?”

Lesson for you to ponder on everyday, ask yourself, “Shall I always do as I please with what is mine simply because it is mine?”Story told by Archbishop Felix Alaba Job at our annual family meeting, December 2013!

Leave a Reply

